News

New York Adds Ten States to Quarantine List – Removes One

Did you miss a deal? Never again! Apply to join the members-only MilesTalk Facebook group.

Advertiser Disclosure: MilesTalk has partnered with CardRatings for our coverage of credit card products. MilesTalk and CardRatings may receive a commission from card issuers and MilesTalk may also receive compensation for content. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers. The editorial content on this page is not provided by any of the companies mentioned, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities. Opinions expressed here are the author's alone.

Good news if you are in Minnesota and looking to visit the Empire State. Thanks to Minnesota’s improvements with regards to COVID-19 cases, quarantine is no longer required if you fly to NY.

New York City

Central Park – New York City

New York Adds Ten States to Quarantine List

But if you are from one of the following states, the 14-day mandatory quarantine order for entering New York State now applies to you:

💳 If you are in a cash crunch, you should avoid travel rewards credit cards until you are caught up. Here are our favorite credit cards for Intro 0% APR offers and for balance transfer offers

 

  • Alaska
  • Delaware
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Virginia
  • Washington

It already applied to all people from the following states, and still does:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota (removed July 21st, 2020)
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

This means that if you are from one of the above states, you are legally required to go to an isolated location and not leave for 14 days.

 

Reminder on Penalties for Not Filing Health Forms on Arrival to NY:

If you are in one of the above states and are caught leaving the airport without having filled out the DOH Traveler Form, you can be fined $2,000.

If entering via train or car, you need to fill this out electronically. While the state doesn’t state any planned law enforcement for car or train travelers, I believe they would have the authority under this declaration to check. I can see this potentially occurring on Amtrak, perhaps at NY Penn Station, though again they state no plans to do so. I do not envision police pulling over cars to check, though you should be aware that if you are pulled over for another reason (speeding or any other moving violation) they could ask for proof if your license reveals that you are from an affected state.

 

Any questions?

Let me know below in the comments, on Twitter, or in the private MilesTalk Facebook group.

You can find credit cards that best match your spending habits and bonus categories at Your Best Credit Cards

New to all of this? My “introduction to miles and points” book, MilesTalk: Live Your Wildest Travel Dreams Using Miles and Points is available on Amazon and at major booksellers.